Skip to Content


« Previous Page  Page 2 of 6  Next Page »
April 9, 2021

Daniel Hothem

Daniel Hothem is representing the University in a one person quiz bowl team in the national Intercollegiate Championship Tournament this weekend. Congratulations to Daniel on reaching the national tournament.

March 1, 2021

AWM Student Chapter Distinguished Lecture Series

Tara Holm, Professor of Mathematics at Cornell University, will deliver the winter term 2021 AWM Distinguished Lecture on Thursday, March 4th, at 4 pm.
The lecture will be given virtually via Zoom. The title of the lecture is “Understanding Symplectic Geometry through Polytopes and Lattice Points”. Click on the lecture title for the abstract, Zoom Meeting ID and passcode.

November 17, 2020

Office Update

As of November 18, 2020, the departmental staff are all working remotely. Please email us directly or message us on TEAMS.

Student Support – Mary Brown
Finance Support – Jennifer Maguire
Manager & building support – Sherilyn Schwartz

September 23, 2020

Special Undergraduate Lecture

On October 1 at 4pm the UO Mathematics Department will host a talk by Dr. Mark Goresky, who will discuss the mathematical development of spread spectrum communication but also the exciting and fascinating life of the actress Hedy Lamarr. His talk is entitled “A glamorous Hollywood star, a renegade composer, and the mathematical development of spread spectrum communication.” The talk will include discussion of Ms. Lamarr’s work as a scientist, an actress, how she fled Austria before World War II, and other aspects of her life. While parts of the talk will assume some basic knowledge of mathematics, much of the talk can be understood by undergraduates from any major.

Mark Goresky is a distinguished mathematician and engaging lecturer from the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. This will be the first of two lectures given by Dr. Goresky as part of the Math Department’s Niven Lecture Series, with the second talk being a research colloquium given on October 5 entitled “Pseudo-random numbers and sequences”. Meeting details and abstracts for both talks.

June 10, 2020

Virtual Commencement

The Math Department’s 2020 Virtual Commencement information can be found here

March 17, 2020

COVID-19 News

As with all of UO, the Math Department is preparing for remote operations to help combat the spread of COVID-19. All Math courses are expected to still take place in Spring quarter, but using remote teaching and learning methods. Classes and office hours will be conducted online via a combination of recorded video lectures, live video conferencing, Canvas, and email. All students, whether on or off campus, will be able to participate in their classes via these online tools.

The Mathematics Department office is closed and we are working remotely, for contact information please see Mathematics Department notice

February 25, 2020

New undergraduate course offered Spring 2020

Math and the Creative Process: A Participatory Exploration of Number Theory is a new course that will first be offered in Spring 2020. This course counts as 2 math labs (toward the math major) and is open to all undergraduates interested in math.

February 6, 2020

Eugene Youth Math Festival

On Saturday, February 29, 2020, from 10am to 1pm in McArthur Court at the University of Oregon, we invite students, ages 5-14, to come to the third Eugene Youth Math Festival. There will be math activities, math problems, board games, puzzles, and brain teasers designed to engage the students in problem solving. Due to the support of the math department and the National Science Foundation, admission to the festival will be free of charge.

For more information, visit the Math Festival website.

November 4, 2019

Marie Vitulli — Class of 2020 AMS Fellows

Congratulations to Marie Vitulli for being selected for the 2020 class of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society.

Marie A. Vitulli, University of Oregon, was selected “for contributions to commutative algebra, and for service to the mathematical community particularly in support of women in mathematics”.

October 23, 2019

AWM Student Chapter Distinguished Lecture Series

Sarah Holte, Principal Staff Scientist at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and Affiliate
Associate Professor of Global Health and Biostatistics at the University of Washington will visit campus November 8 – 9, 2019 to deliver the fall term AWM Distinguished Lectures.

Dr. Holte will deliver an undergraduate lecture appropriate for a general audience on Thursday, November 8th, at 2 p.m. in Deady 208. The title of this talk is “A Degree in Mathematics To A Career in Applied Biostatistics: Not as Easy as it Might Seem.”

Dr. Holte will give a colloquium lecture on Friday, November 9th, at 4 p.m. in Deady 208. The title of this talk is “The Intersection of Statistical and Mathematical Modelsto Describe Complexity in Longitudinal Data.”

« Previous Page  Page 2 of 6  Next Page »